Liebster Lizards!

liebster2_thumb            Alright, so that title’s only funny to a select group of people who know what a Liebster award is and enjoy Little Orphan Annie.  But this is my blog, so I’ll put my jokes in it.  Somewhere in Bangalore, someone is cracking up right now, and that makes my heart glow.  What a weird, wacky, wonderful world it is.  (By the way, if you are cracking up in Bangalore right now, I totally want to hear from you!)

I was planning to take the weekend off from writing actual posts, and spend some serious time learning how to make my blog sleeker and prettier and more useful.  I also planned to take some time to hound my relatives and neighbors into reading it, sell some Girl Scout cookies, and drill my 3rd grader on decimal places and fractions.  Plus work on the great picture book idea I started on Thursday.  I got a little derailed, though (as I often do) by a wonderful comment left for me by fellow blogger Nic Courto.

Hi, I’d like to nominate you for a Liebster Award, because I think your blog is cool, click here for more info. http://writersapprenticeship.wordpress.com/2014/01/16/liebster-awards/

I was honored, I was delighted.

I was confused.  What the hey-diddle-diddle is a Liebster?

Turns out, the Liebster Awards are intended to get us bloggers talking to each other, and the task is to nominate 10 or more blogs with under 300 followers and set them ten questions to answer.  If they accept the award, they do the same.  On the way, you check out a lot of amazing blogs, make some new friends, and do what social media does best – connect!

So here are my 10 questions from the talented Tasmanian,  Nic Courto:     

  1. you could live anywhere in the world, where would you go?   I am tempted to say I would stay right here – because right now, I love my house, my neighborhood, my kids’ schools, my friends.  But honestly, New Jersey is not where I thought I would be! Yards are small and no one parks in their garage.  That’s not right.  So I will lift my home and place it on several acres of land, old-growth trees and wildflowers around me, just a short bike ride to the coffee shop (and the wine shop) somewhere with 4 seasons but a short and mild winter.  I’d like English to be the primary language and there to be a good supply of peanut butter nearby.  Otherwise, I’m none too picky.      
  2. How do you motivate yourself?      Music helps to motivate me.  When I can’t get going I tend to turn up the tunes.  Anything I can sing along with usually works.  I like the Replacements, Melissa Etheridge, and Jet for cleaning house, Mary Poppins for working in the garden.
  3. Who is your favourite author?     I am incapable of answering that.  If you measure by sheer number of pages read, it would be Patrick O’Brian of Master and Commander fame.  When I became obsessed with his work 2 years ago, my husband got me the boxed set (21 books) for my birthday.  But my long-standing love-affair has been with Madeline L’Engle’s young adult novels, which I have been reading over and over again since I was 9.
  4. Who is the person in your life you can imagine being without?     Can?  That’s a toughy.  How in-my-life does this person have to be?  I could certainly do without the lady at school drop-off who double parks the rest of us in and goes through the intersection even though the crossing guard has her sign up.  She gets my goat.  
  5. Favourite beverage? .  Cranberry juice when pregnant.  Margarita on the rocks when not.
  6. Biscuit or cake?    In the US, a biscuit is a warm, flaky roll, often eaten with honey and butter or sausage gravy.  I’ll take that.
  7. What do you do to relax when the world gets too much for you?   Curl up in my husband’s lap in our big recliner and let him rock me.  Sometimes mommies have to be children, too.
  8. Favourite musician/band?      Again, tough to call anything a favorite.  They Might Be Giants is out in front, though.
  9. Is there something you love that you don’t tell anyone about because it’s that uncool?  I have an unholy love of office supplies.  Honestly.  My husband gave me a label-maker for our 5th wedding anniversary, and I was over the moon!   Because, well, I can make labels!
  10. Why is the rum gone? You cannot blame me.  I spent a highly unsatisfactory week in Jamaica trying to get someone to make me a decent margarita.  No more attending weddings in countries without good tequila.

SO, here are the blogs I have selected to nominate for a Liebster.  Roll your drums, please.

  • Lively Copywriting whose humor, professionalism, and love of grammar strike a chord of fellow-feeling within me.
  • Making and being made : a gorgeous, lively site in which even the widgets are witty
  • tickled peck : the adorably enthusiastic blog of Larissa Peck
  • Creativity from Chaos: the haunting workd of R.M. Ridley
  • Sipper Books: writing between worlds uses lots of pictures & video clips to share a writer’s journey and published author’s advice
  • Puddle Reader : the enchanting thoughts and book reviews of mom and avid reader, Alexandra Hinrichs
  • Abi Burlingham- author: is a beautifully designed website with a magical feel  – I am thrilled to have found it!
  • Notes from the Internet: by Silvia Altamirano is well-designed, insightful, and showcases her writing and design skills
  • Muted, but Present.:  “daily pieces of rough fiction, and opportunities and resources for writers of all levels of experience”
  • sallyanne rogers: a insightful and laugh-inducing look into the world of a self-proclaimed “veteran filth-peddler.”

I had an immense amount of fun discovering these blogs and many more!  I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.  Here are your 10 questions, bloggers:

  1. What one thing do you wish you had never written?
  2. What did you not write, but now wish you had?
  3. What are your favorite pajamas like?
  4. Is there a word you hate to use in conversation?
  5. Did you have an imaginary friend?  Describe, please.
  6. Fame or fortune?
  7. Peanut butter or jelly?
  8. Whose praise means the most to you?
  9. Whose means the least?
  10. What’s the nicest thing you ever did?

Congratulations!  I can’t wait to read what you write!

24 thoughts on “Liebster Lizards!

  1. Thanks again, Katey. I’ll try to get something on my blog tomorrow. Been at church all day today, so I’ll probably aim for something a little shorter tonight. Love your blog and sweet online personality!

    Like

    • You’re very welcome. Looking forward to seeing your answers whenever you find the time. I’m snowbound with 3 kids, so my response times are a little slow, myself! Hope you had a great weekend.

      Like

  2. article is quite interesting and hopefully true happiness rays began to warm the hearts of us all, when we can share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

    Like

  3. ok Katy I will try again to comment. Looks like you are having fun with this. Maybe your book should be what you are doing here. Just write about what your kids come up with and put it into a fictional setting. Those beauty’s will always give you new plots

    Like

    • They get into too many scrapes and say way too many adorable things to be believable. Truth is way sillier than fiction – at least around here! Glad you enjoy reading it. Big hugs!

      Like

  4. When I first read that you wanted to nominate me for an award, I thought it was a scam. 😀 I’m happy to discover otherwise! It shouldn’t take me long to answer these questions, but selecting ten bloggers to pass the Liebster Award along to might take a bit. The idea of an award that connects bloggers who get only modest traffic is a great one – a way for us to discover, engage with, and encourage one another. Nice to meet you, and thanks for the nomination!

    p.s. If you’d like to have an actual title associated with my blog, it’s “Making & Being Made.” I opted to include it in image form rather than typing it in as the official title, all in the name of design. 🙂

    Like

    • I know – I was worried about some kind of pyramid scheme at first – but was relieved to find it to be a great way to connect and discover. Take your time – there’s no rush – and enjoy finding those gems who deserve a bigger readership. Can’t wait to see who you find. Oh, and sorry to have missed the title – still learning my way around! I’ll fix it right up.

      Like

  5. Hi Katey,
    There’s nothing uncool about a label maker! Anyhow, I just stumbled across your blog and it seems like you’d make quite a good writer. Best of luck!

    Like

    • Ingrid, thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed reading. I’m new to blogging, but I’ll be finding ways to add some of my children’s stories and ideas to the blog soon. Hope you come back for more.

      Like

  6. Thank you so much for including me! I love the way you described my blog, I’m honoured. I just came from Bariloche (Argentina), I’ve been in the middle of the mountain where I had no wifi, so I’m just receiving the news of my nomination. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  7. I really enjoy reading your blog! I can even picture you acting out theses stories with your girls! Can’t wait to see your first children’s book published.

    Also, that double parking, stop sign blowing mom gets my goat as well!

    Like

    • One of the officers pulled her over today – as she was trying to pass me on my left because I wouldn’t turn fast enough. Maybe, just maybe, she’ll learn.
      If not, hey – that’s a story for another post. Thanks for all the support!

      Like

  8. I suppose I can forgive you for not nominating my blog for an award since you need to network with “real” writers, but answering those questions would’ve given me something to do during a middle of the night triplet feeding! When you learn good blogging tips email them to me okay? Seems like you’re off to a good start with this whole blogging gig!

    Like

Leave a Reply

