To be a paper star

Image

I’m a girl who needs a metaphor.

Does that happen to you, too?  An insatiable craving for inspiration, for a raison d’etre?

Here is the paper star that hangs in my eldest daughter’s bedroom.  She leaves it on night and day. (It’s a CFC bulb- so no worries about fire safety, okay?  Let’s stay focused on metaphor.)  She says it makes her feel safe and comfortable.  She says it gives her good dreams.  She says it’s beautiful.  She loves that it was handmade and one-of-a-kind.  She watches it sway in the breeze.

That’s what I want.  To be a paper star.

As a writer, as a mother. ( As a friend and daughter and sister. )

I want the children to see my unique outer beauty, but then, to notice the light shining through.  I want to pierce the darkness and shine in many directions.  I want my books to make children feel warm and safe.  I’d like to give them good dreams.  Amazing dreams.  I’d like to sweep away shadows.  I want to blow with the breezes but stay tethered to the source of my light.  Family, God, the muse that drives me.

There’s the metaphor I needed today.  Now, I’ll get back to work.

4 thoughts on “To be a paper star

  1. Wow, such a good metaphor! I love it! I want to be a paper star too!! So sweet, I think when we have something like that in the forefront of our minds, it helps us to see Better, to live Better; to sort of reach into the future with the past in mind- to know where and what you’ve been, but also where you’re going and who you’re going to be! Thank you for sharing! (and sorry for all the exclamation marks, I have a syndrome) 😉

    Like

    • I also suffer from exclamation addiction. No worries. I agree that having a picture of what we are striving for helps us “to see better, to live better.” Well said! Thanks for “getting it.”

      Like

  2. I thought of you today when I saw that the Caldecott and Newbery aware were announced. Maybe someday that will be you, my inspired metaphor of a sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

