#RaisingReaders Monday: Grandma time

Happy Monday, everyone!

It’s a very special Monday, since it’s also my mom’s birthday! In honor of that occasion, I thought I’d dedicate today’s post to the woman who taught me to love reading – and who supplies my children with immeasurable amounts of love, laughter, and reading material!

Happy Birthday, Mom!

Happy Birthday, Mom!

My mom always made reading  fun when I was growing up. She read us countless stories while Dad worked the night shift and she let us stay up late with a book and a flashlight in our bed when we learned to read on our own. She dragged my brother and sister and I back and forth to the library every week with our stacks of 10, 12, 15 books each.

When I was pregnant with my eldest daughter, Mom even made the baby shower extra-special with the gift of a vintage copy of one of my very favorites, Katy and the Big Snow.

Wow, was I ever young!

 

Now that I’m grown, with three kids of my own, and living a 12-hour drive away, she hasn’t stopped being a great influence.

Of course, I still get bookstore gift cards for my birthday. (She knows how much I love to fill my bookshelves!) But even better than that, she sends my kids magazine subscriptions and book club selections. When we visit her house, the shelves in the kids’ rooms still boast a great selection of stories from my youth – and some extras she couldn’t resist. And she is always ready to cuddle up and read with my girls.

I’ve made a Pinterest board (Yes, I’m finally coming around to embracing Pinterest. Baby-steps, folks.) of great books about the relationships between grandmas and their grandchildren with selections for every age group from infant to teens. Some are old favorites in my house, others were really fun discoveries for me. I’ve included books from many cultures, featuring diverse families – and I’m so thankful that those are available!

Here are a few of the stand-outs. I hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

1. For infants and little lookers

 

 

Todd Parr uses bright colors, basic shapes, and sweet, simple text to explore and explain how great grandmas are! Little ones will not be able to take their eyes off of this book!

 

 

 

 

2. For toddlers and busy hands

 

 

 

Featuring Eric Hill’s well-known Spot and trademark adorable lift-the-flaps, this book is a fun way to start a talk about all the things kids love about their grandma!

 

 

 

3. For pre-school and kindergarten kiddos

What Grandmas Can’t Do by Douglas Wood is one of my kids’ favorites. Did you know that Grandmas can’t buy everything in the store? “But they can give it a good try.”

 

 

 

 

 

4. Elementary age and read-it-myself-ers

 

 

This funny book walks kids through all the ways to keep a grandma entertained while you are watching her for awhile. Make certain to reassure her that your mom and dad always come back! The pictures are heart-warming and giggle-inducing.

 

 

 

 

5. Middle graders will enjoy

 

A Long Way from Chicago – a short story cycle about Joey and Mary Alice Dowdel and the adventurous summers they spend with their unconventional grandmother. This Newbery Honor book has an equally  tremendous sequel: A Year Down Yonder, which won the Newbery Medal in 2001. It’s my top pick for teens.

 

 

Make sure to click through to my Pinterest board for great books featuring Latina, African American, East Asian and multi-racial grandmothers and grandchildren, as well as grandma-themed cookbooks and plenty more picture books!

 

What are your family’s favorite books about grandmas? Does Grandma play a special role in teaching kids to love reading in your house?

4 thoughts on “#RaisingReaders Monday: Grandma time

  1. Imagine my surprise and delight to see myself on your blog yesterday. I’m not quite so jealous of Chloe and her birthday crown now! And apparently you can accomplish marvelous things early in the morning waiting for a plane. Thanks for being a wonderful daughter who loved words practically from the moment you were born. And who loved to be read to and read before you could sit still. Books definitely do make the best presents for every occasion and going to the book store is a great field trip. Look where reading got you 🙂

    Like

  2. I adore Todd Par. I have a friend who bought his books to tear apart and hang all over their nursery. Such great art, story and lessons.
    Have you read Zen Shorts and Zen Ties? I love those books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

