#NationalDogDay Reading Activity

When I found out it was National Dog Day, I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea to mention it to my kids. After all, they’ve been begging for a dog for several years now – to no avail. Not a can of worms I really wanted to open today, I assure you.

But in helping me complete and post my ALS Ice Bucket Challenge on Facebook this morning, the girls noticed a lot of #NationalDogDay hashtags and had to know more. I came up with a fun plan to turn something I honestly had never heard of before into a #RaisingReaders theme.

First, we searched our bookshelves for every story we could find featuring dogs as main characters. At this point, my oldest grabbed Because of Winn-Dixie (which she had gone about 5 weeks without re-reading) and disappeared.

The remaining 2 girls, ages 6 and 4, helped me lay out all the dog books on the living room rug, like this:

photo (1)

My 4-year-old is incredibly proud of her new-found ability to count to 59, so she insisted we count the dog books. Over and over. Until we got to 59.

Then each girl chose one book to read to me. Of course, I helped where needed – but they did a pretty awesome job.

My littlest chose Mo Willems’ The Pigeon Wants A Puppy. I love this one as much as the kids do – as it humorously drives home the point that not everyone who thinks he wants a puppy really knows what he is getting into! photo 1

My middle child chose Marley The Messy Dog – an I Can Read book from the Harper Collins Children’s imprint. photo 2

Then I got to read book after doggy book aloud to them. Biscuit and Spot, Little Critter and Clifford and Lady and the Tramp. Even The Poky Little Puppy.

We woofed and barked and panted and giggled a lot.  My throat got sore from reading and ruff-ing.

We drew dogs, we traced dogs, we pretended that my daughters were circus dogs and I was their trainer.  They jumped through a lot of hula hoops and slid down the slide on all fours. It was a lot of fun.

So tell me, did you do anything exciting to celebrate #nationaldogdday?

Did I miss any of your (or your children’s) favorite dog books? I’ll be putting together a Pinterest board with this theme later in the week – so let me know what stories should be on it!

And as always, thanks for reading!

 

 

9 thoughts on “#NationalDogDay Reading Activity

Leave a Reply

