#RaisingReaders Monday: What’s hot at my house

With Thanksgiving just behind us, the winter holidays just ahead, and end-of-term projects galore, it’s been a little crazy around my house lately. We haven’t had a lot of spare time for blogging (or cleaning, or putting away our laundry) – but we did have time to cut down and put up a big, beautiful Christmas tree in our front room – also known as The Library.

photo (4)

We also found time to bring up the Big Box of Winter Books from the basement. (And while the kids were distracted digging into their favorites, I managed to confiscate collect the remaining Halloween and Fall books and pack them away for next year.)

My winter book basket

No matter how busy we get, it seems we always find time for reading – whether it’s curled on the couch before school, in the backseat on the way to swim lessons, or up way past our bedtimes.  I’m proud to be raising a household of kids who don’t love to read – they read to live. To them, it’s as much a part of an average day as eating breakfast or getting dressed (and at times, they try to accomplish all three at once.)

What’s big with my littles at the moment? I’m so glad you asked!

My 9 year old is currently obsessed with epic adventures, myths and folk tales – especially with gorgeous illustrations. In her read-over-and-over-again pile right now:

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan/illustrated by John Rocco.

The Spirit Animal series from Scholastic (various authors)

Sukey and the Mermaid by Robert D San Souci and Brain Pinkney

My 7-year-old 1st grader is thrilled with any illustrated chapter books she can get her hands on. The Branches lines of early chapter books from Scholastic have really been a good fit for her this school year. In particular, she loves

Princess Pink and the Land of Fake Believe by Noah Z. Jones

and Kung Pow Chicken by Cyndi Marko

She also can’t get enough of National Geographic Kids magazine and her favorite book of all time, the National Geographic Wild Animal Atlas.

And last, I bring you to my wild and wacky 5 year old, who cannot resist a good laugh – but desperately wants to read it all herself! Currently topping her list:

Pete The Cat Saves Christmas by Eric Litwin/Illustrated by James Dean.

Anything ever written by Mo Willems (she knows where his “section” is in Barnes and Noble)

and the hysterical best-seller, The Book With No Pictures by B.J. Novak.

SO tell me, what’s hot in your house now that it’s cold outside? I’ll be heading to the library later today – – what should we be checking out next?

12 thoughts on “#RaisingReaders Monday: What’s hot at my house

  1. Katey, I LOVE that your kids “read to live”!!! How WONderful! 😀 And I have to tell you, I never really watch TV much, or most movies anymore. But one movie I aDORE is “Saving Mr. Banks.” I did NOT realize that this author/actor B. J. Novak is THIS actor! LOVE this! And the book is flat out brilliant lol

    And aren’t the two of us just too much with the “not knowing each other—AGAIN” at the party? lol Too much!

    Liked by 1 person

      • And I’ll give you a little “titbit” 😉 (“Tidbit,” P.L.Travers corrects Mr. Disney)…since I’m an old lady, I was a child when my brother and I were treated to the movies premiere at Radio City Music Hall. Yes, they used to show movies there, too! 😀 I listened to my vinyl album soundtrack repeatedly and wonder how my mother standed it lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. katey, if you’re looking for a terrific read yourself, try bill bryson’s ‘at home’…an almost encyclopedic treatise on domestic life since some time after the middle ages. doesn’t sound enticing from that description, i’m sure… only bill bryson could pull it off. funny, clever, gigantically informative, a book i was astonished i couldn’t put down!

    Like

  3. Katey…love that your kids are all about books and reading…what a great idea to change out the selection for each season. 🙂 I hope you and your family have a Happy and Healthy Holiday…filled with joy and love and…lots of books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My daughter adored that Princess Pink book. It was one of the first longer books that she listened to – repeatedly. Oddly enough, she didn’t care for the second in the series. Ah well! I just finished Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff, which is lovely.

    Like

  5. Pingback: #RaisingReaders Monday: The Importance of Reading Aloud With Older Kids | kateywrites

Leave a Reply

