How I get my kids to read

Sometimes, the best thing I can write on a #RaisingReaders Monday is a note like this: check out this fabulous post by Julia Mace of I Love Kids Books, entitled How I Get My Kids To Read.

I love kids books

Max Max

What’s one thing you feel good about as a parent? For me, one thing I’ve done right is that my kids love books.

(I remind myself of this after I lose it and yell. Right after the guilt sets in.)

Here are some ways I’ve gotten my boys interested in books.

  1. We read everyday. At bedtime and the oh so missed naptime.
  2. We visit the library a lot.
  3. We go to a lot of bookstores, including when we are on vacation.

Ok, so sometimes, it doesn’t work.

Here’s what I hear:

  1. I want to watch TV.
  2. I don’t want to go to the library.
  3. I want to watch TV.
  4. I want to watch TV.

So, I try some new things.

  1. I stop at the library on my way home from work. It seems like I brought home a present! When they ask, “Did you bring…

View original post 203 more words

Leave a Reply

